EduHPC 2024: Workshop on Education for High-Performance Computing Message from the EduHPC-24 Workshop Chairs

Welcome to the proceedings of EduHPC24, the Workshop on Education for High Performance Computing, held in Atlanta, Georgia on November 17, 2024, in conjunction with the International Conference for High Performance Computing, Networking, Storage and Analysis (SC24). EduHPC has been a regular workshop of the SC conference since 2013, devoted to the development of reproducible educational and curricular innovations and resources for undergraduate and graduate education in High Performance Computing (HPC) and Parallel and Distributed Computing (PDC). The workshop particularly focuses on connecting individuals from academia, industry, national laboratories, and funding agencies with the goal of exchanging ideas on the enhancement and infusion of HPC, PDC, and Big Data education. EduHPC is in coordination with the IEEE TCPP curriculum initiative on parallel and distributed computing (http://www.cs.gsu.edu/~tcpp/curriculum) for computer science and computer engineering undergraduates and is supported by NSF and the NSF-supported Center for Parallel and Distributed Computing Curriculum Development and Educational Resources (CDER).

In 2024, we received 8 full papers, 6 lightning talks (preliminary or ongoing research and innovative ideas), and 4 Peachy assignments (ready-to-use assignments for teaching HPC or PDC concepts) submissions. All manuscripts were reviewed by our expert program committee on their significance, innovation, technical quality, and reproducibility, with each paper receiving three to five reviews. The program committee selected 4 papers, 5 lightning talks, and 2 Peachy assignments to be included into the EduHPC24 program.

A highlight of EduHPC24 was the invited talk by Valerie Taylor, Division Director of the Mathematics and Computer Science Division at Argonne National Laboratory as part of the two technical paper sessions, which covered pedagogical strategies for teaching parallel and distributed computing in undergraduate courses. This was followed by the Lightning Talks session featuring short talks relating to new and emerging ideas, work-in-progress pedagogical efforts, and short-term experience reports. The second paper session covered Diverse Approaches to Teaching HPC. Finally, the Peachy Assignments session presented two new assignments to enhance student engagement and learning via project-based learning. We closed this year's workshop with a Call For Participation in the EduHiPC-25 Workshop in Bangalore, India. This excellent program could not have happened without the help of a strong and diverse program committee representing 16 institutions or organizations spanning many countries. Our sincere thanks go to the program committee members for their timely and thorough evaluation and dedicated work. We would also like to thank the SC Workshop coordinators Janine Bennett and Bruno Raffin for helping to make EduHPC-24 successful.

We would like to extend our heartfelt thanks to the program committee members for their time and effort in reviewing the submissions for EduHPC 2024. Their invaluable feedback and expertise have played a crucial role in maintaining the quality of the workshop. Lastly, the workshop owes its success to the invaluable guidance and substantial efforts provided by the CDER center investigators, who served as the workshop organizing committee. We acknowledge the support of NSF (award # 2017590). Please visit the EduHPC-24 website at <u>https://tcpp.cs.gsu.edu/curriculum/?q=eduhpc24</u> for the online proceedings and presentations (papers, lightning talks, and Peachy assignments).

Sushil K Prasad, Workshop Chair, University of Texas at San Antonio George K. Thiruvathukal, Technical Program Chair, Loyola University Chicago Erik Saule, Technical Program Vice Chair and Lighning Talks Chair, UNC Charlotte Satish Puri, Proceedings Chair, Missouri S&T University David Bunde, Peachy Assignments Chair, Knox College

Workshop Organization

Workshop Committee

- Sushil K Prasad, Workshop Chair, University of Texas at San Antonio
- George K. Thiruvathukal, Technical Program Chair, Loyola University Chicago
- Erik Saule, Technical Program Vice Chair, UNC Charlotte
- Satish Puri, Proceedings Chair, Missouri S&T University
- David Bunde, Peachy Assignments Chair, Knox College.

Technical Program Committee

- Kishwar Ahmed The University of Toledo, United States of America
- Neelima Bayyapu Manipal Institute of Technology Manipal Academy of Higher Education, India
- Steven Bogaerts University of Michigan
- David Brown Elmhurst University, United States of America
- David P. Bunde Knox College
- Katharine Cahill New Jersey Institute of Technology, United States of America
- Valeria Cardellini Tor Vergata University of Rome, Italy
- James C. Davis Purdue University
- Samantha S. Foley University of Wisconsin, La Crosse, United States of America
- Eric Freudenthal University of Texas, El Paso; Freudensong LLC, United States of America
- Henry Gabb Intel Corporation, United States of America
- Sheikh Ghafoor Tennessee Tech University, National Science Foundation (NSF), United States of America
- Anshul Gupta IBM Corporation
- Joseph A. Insley Argonne National Laboratory (ANL), Northern Illinois University, United States of America
- Konstantin Läufer Loyola University, Chicago
- Jens Mache Lewis & Clark College
- Suzanne J. Matthews United States Military Academy, United States of America
- Tia Newhall Swarthmore College
- Virginia Niculescu Babes-Bolyai University, Romania
- Zulkar Nine Tennessee Tech University, United States of America
- Maria Pantoja California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo; Esencia Technologies Inc, United States of America
- Satish Puri Missouri University of Science and Technology, United States of America
- Apan Qasem Texas State University, United States of America
- Silvio Rizzi Argonne National Laboratory (ANL)
- Erik Saule University of North Carolina Charlotte, United States of America
- Elizabeth Shoop Macalester College
- Alan Sussman University of Maryland, United States of America

- Shubbhi Taneja Worcester Polytechnic Institute (WPI)
- Ramachandran Vaidyanathan Louisiana State University
- Charles Weems University of Massachusetts, Amherst, United States of America
- Öz llşıl Izmir Institute of Technology, Turkey

Organizing Committee

- Sheikh Ghafoor, Tennessee Technological University
- Sushil K. Prasad, University of Texas at San Antonio
- Alan Sussman, University of Maryland
- Ramachandran Vaidyanathan, Louisiana State University
- Charles Weems, University of Massachusetts