COMMISSION

COMMISSION DECISION

of 6 June 2008

amending Decision 2008/185/EC to include the departments of Côtes-d'Armor, Finistère, Ille-et-Vilaine, Morbihan and Nord, France, in the list of regions free of Aujeszky's disease

(notified under document number C(2008) 2387)

(Text with EEA relevance)

(2008/476/EC)

THE COMMISSION OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Community,

Having regard to Council Directive 64/432/EEC of 26 June 1964 on animal health problems affecting intra-Community trade in bovine animals and swine (1), and in particular Articles 9(2) and 10(2) thereof,

Whereas:

- (1) Directive 64/432/EEC lays down rules applicable to intra-Community trade in certain animals. Article 9 of that Directive provides for compulsory national programmes for certain contagious disease, including Aujeszky's disease, to be submitted to the Commission for approval. In addition, Article 10 of Directive 64/432/EEC provides for Member States to submit documentation to the Commission concerning the status of those diseases in their territory.
- (2) Commission Decision 2008/185/EC of 21 February 2008 on additional guarantees in intra-Community trade of pigs relating to Aujeszky's disease and criteria to provide information on this disease (2) contains a list of Member States or regions thereof free of Aujeszky's disease and where vaccination is prohibited in Annex I thereto. Annex II to Decision 2008/185/EC contains a list of Member States or regions thereof where disease control programme for that disease are in place.
- OJ 121, 29.7.1964, p. 1977/64. Directive as last amended by Commission Decision 2007/729/EC (OJ L 294, 13.11.2007, p. 26).
 OJ L 59, 4.3.2008, p. 19.

- (3) A programme for the eradication of Aujeszky's disease has been implemented in France for several years and the departments of Côtes-d'Armor, Finistère, Ille-et-Vilaine, Morbihan and Nord are listed as regions where an approved Aujeszky's disease control programme is in place.
- (4) France has submitted supporting documentation to the Commission as regards the Aujeszky's disease-free status of the departments of Côtes-d'Armor, Finistère, Ille-et-Vilaine, Morbihan and Nord demonstrating that the disease has been eradicated from those departments.
- (5) The Commission has examined the documentation submitted by France and found it to comply with Article 10(1) of Directive 64/432/EEC. Accordingly, those departments should be included in the list in Annex I to Decision 2008/185/EC.
- (6) Decision 2008/185/EC should therefore be amended accordingly.
- (7) The measures provided for in this Decision are in accordance with the opinion of the Standing Committee on the Food Chain and Animal Health,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

Article 1

Annexes I and II to Decision 2008/185/EC are replaced by the text in the Annex to this Decision.

Article 2

This Decision is addressed to the Member States.

Done at Brussels, 6 June 2008.

For the Commission
Androulla VASSILIOU
Member of the Commission

ANNEX

'ANNEX I

Member States or regions thereof free of Aujeszky's disease and where vaccination is prohibited

ISO code	Member State	Regions
CZ	Czech Republic	All regions
DK	Denmark	All regions
DE	Germany	All regions
FR	France	The departments of Ain, Aisne, Allier, Alpes-de-Haute-Provence, Alpes-Maritimes, Ardèche, Ardennes, Ariège, Aube, Aude, Aveyron, Bas-Rhin, Bouches-du-Rhône, Calvados, Cantal, Charente, Charente-Maritime, Cher, Corrèze, Côte-d'Or, Côtes-d'Armor, Creuse, Deux-Sèvres, Dordogne, Doubs, Drôme, Essonne, Eure, Eure-et-Loir, Finistère, Gard, Gers, Gironde, Hautes-Alpes, Hauts-de-Seine, Haute Garonne, Haute-Loire, Haute-Marne, Hautes-Pyrénées, Haut-Rhin, Haute-Saône, Haute-Savoie, Haute-Vienne, Hérault, Ille-et-Vilaine, Indre, Indre-et-Loire, Isère, Jura, Landes, Loire, Loire-Atlantique, Loir-et-Cher, Loiret, Lot, Lot-et-Garonne, Lozère, Maine-et-Loire, Manche, Marne, Mayenne, Meurthe-et-Moselle, Meuse, Morbihan, Moselle, Nièvre, Nord, Oise, Orne, Paris, Pas de Calais, Pyrénées-Atlantiques, Pyrénées-Orientales, Puy-de-Dôme, Réunion, Rhône, Sarthe, Saône-et-Loire, Savoie, Seine-et-Marne, Seine-Maritime, Seine-Saint-Denis, Somme, Tarn, Tarn-et-Garonne, Territoire de Belfort, Val-de-Marne, Val-d'Oise, Var, Vaucluse, Vendée, Vienne, Vosges, Yonne, Yvelines
CY	Cyprus	Whole territory
LU	Luxembourg	All regions
AT	Austria	Whole territory
SK	Slovakia	All regions
FI	Finland	All regions
SE	Sweden	All regions
UK	United Kingdom	All regions in England, Scotland and Wales

ANNEX II

Member States or regions thereof where approved Aujeszky's disease control programmes are in place

ISO code	Member State	Regions
BE	Belgium	Whole territory
ES	Spain	The territory of the Autonomous Communities of Galicia, País Vasco, Asturias, Cantabria, Navarra, La Rioja
		The territory of the provinces of León, Zamora, Palencia, Burgos, Valladolid and Ávila in the Autonomous Community of Castilla y León
		The territory of the province of Las Palmas in the Canary Islands
IT	Italy	The province of Bolzano
NL	Netherlands	Whole territory'