COUNCIL DECISION (EU) 2022/1043

of 28 June 2022

appointing a member and two alternate members, proposed by the Kingdom of Spain, of the Committee of the Regions

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union, and in particular Article 305 thereof,

Having regard to Council Decision (EU) 2019/852 of 21 May 2019 determining the composition of the Committee of the Regions (1),

Having regard to the proposals of the Spanish Government,

Whereas:

- (1) Pursuant to Article 300(3) of the Treaty, the Committee of the Regions is to consist of representatives of regional and local bodies who either hold a regional or local authority electoral mandate or are politically accountable to an elected assembly.
- (2) On 3 February 2020, the Council adopted Decision (EU) 2020/144 (²), appointing the members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions for the period from 26 January 2020 to 25 January 2025.
- (3) A member's seat on the Committee of the Regions has become vacant following the resignation of Mr Juan ESPADAS CEIAS.
- (4) Two alternate members' seats on the Committee of the Regions have become vacant following the resignation of Mr Carlos MARTÍNEZ MÍNGUEZ and the end of the national mandate on the basis of which Mr José Francisco BALLESTA GERMÁN was proposed for appointment.
- (5) The Spanish Government has proposed Mr Julio MILLÁN MUÑOZ, representative of a local body who holds a local authority electoral mandate, *Alcalde del Ayuntamiento de Jaén (Andalucía)* (Mayor of the city council of Jaén (Andalucía)), as a member of the Committee of the Regions for the remainder of the current term of office, which runs until 25 January 2025.
- (6) The Spanish Government has proposed the following representatives of local bodies who hold a local authority electoral mandate as alternate members of the Committee of the Regions for the remainder of the current term of office, which runs until 25 January 2025: Ms Noelia María ARROYO HERNÁNDEZ, Alcaldesa del Ayuntamiento de Cartagena (Murcia) (Mayor of the city council of Cartagena (Murcia)), and Mr Óscar PUENTE SANTIAGO, Alcalde del Ayuntamiento de Valladolid (Castilla y León) (Mayor of the city council of Valladolid (Castilla y León)),

HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

Article 1

The following representatives of local bodies who hold an electoral mandate are hereby appointed to the Committee of the Regions for the remainder of the current term of office, which runs until 25 January 2025:

- (a) as a member:
 - Mr Julio MILLÁN MUÑOZ, Alcalde del Ayuntamiento de Jaén (Andalucía) (Mayor of the city council of Jaén (Andalucía)),

⁽¹⁾ OJ L 139, 27.5.2019, p. 13.

⁽²⁾ Council Decision (EU) 2020/144 of 3 February 2020 appointing the members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions for the period from 26 January 2020 to 25 January 2025 (OJ L 32, 4.2.2020, p. 16).

EN

and

- (b) as alternate members:
 - Ms Noelia María ARROYO HERNÁNDEZ, Alcaldesa del Ayuntamiento de Cartagena (Murcia) (Mayor of the city council of Cartagena (Murcia)),
 - Mr Óscar PUENTE SANTIAGO, Alcalde del Ayuntamiento de Valladolid (Castilla y León) (Mayor of the city council of Valladolid (Castilla y León)).

Article 2

This Decision shall enter into force on the date of its adoption.

Done at Luxembourg, 28 June 2022.

For the Council
The President
A. PANNIER-RUNACHER