Wednesday 15 July 2009

II

(Information)

## INFORMATION FROM EUROPEAN UNION INSTITUTIONS, BODIES, OFFICES AND AGENCIES

## **EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT**

## Numerical strength of the committees

P7\_TA(2009)0001

European Parliament decision of 15 July 2009 on the numerical strength of the committees

(2010/C 224 E/10)

The European Parliament,

- having regard to the proposal by the Conference of Presidents,
- having regard to its decision of 6 May 2009 on the powers and responsibilities of the standing committees (1),
- having regard to Rule 183 of its Rules of Procedure,
- 1. Decides that the numerical strength of the committees shall be as follows:
  - I. Committee on Foreign Affairs: 76 members
  - II. Committee on Development: 30 members
  - III. Committee on International Trade: 29 members
  - IV. Committee on Budgets: 44 members
  - V. Committee on Budgetary Control: 29 members
  - VI. Committee on Economic and Monetary Affairs: 48 members
  - VII. Committee on Employment and Social Affairs: 50 members

<sup>(1)</sup> Texts adopted, P6\_TA(2009)0348.

Wednesday 15 July 2009

- VIII. Committee on the Environment, Public Health and Food Safety: 64 members
- IX. Committee on Industry, Research and Energy: 55 members
- X. Committee on the Internal Market and Consumer Protection: 39 members
- XI. Committee on Transport and Tourism: 45 members
- XII. Committee on Regional Development: 49 members
- XIII. Committee on Agriculture and Rural Development: 45 members
- XIV. Committee on Fisheries: 24 members
- XV. Committee on Culture and Education: 32 members
- XVI. Committee on Legal Affairs: 25 members
- XVII. Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs: 55 members
- XVIII. Committee on Constitutional Affairs: 25 members
- XIX. Committee on Women's Rights and Gender Equality: 35 members
- XX. Committee on Petitions: 35 members

Subcommittee on Human Rights: 30 members

Subcommittee on Security and Defence: 30 members;

- 2. Decides, with reference to the decision of the Conference of Presidents of 9 July 2009 relating to the composition of Committee Bureaux, that the Committee Bureaux may consist of up to four vice-chairs;
- 3. Instructs its President to forward this decision to the Council and Commission, for information.