

State Laws on the Regulation of Specific Dog Breeds

I. States that have non-breed-specific laws and preemptive clauses which prohibit local governments from passing breed-specific legislation (19):

Arizona Colorado Connecticut Delaware Florida Illinois Maine Massachusetts Minnesota Nevada New Jersey New York Oklahoma Pennsylvania Rhode Island South Dakota Texas Utah Virginia

- II. Allows local governments to enact only breed-specific mandatory spay/neuter (1): California
- III. Allows local governments to pass BSL, but only if exemption is made for CGC or similar certification (1):

Washington (Effective January 1, 2020)

IV. States that had breed-specific laws (1): Ohio (Repeal effective as of May 22, 2012)